Thursday, January 29, 2009

Disinformation and Idiocy: part 3 of 10

Accusation 3. The left hate God.
All leftists are Athiests, whether they say so or not. They hate God and they want to see His work undone by killing the unborn (abortion) endorsing un-Biblical behaviour (homsexuality) and making society "secular", which is leftist code for "abolishing religion". They think religion is responsible for all the world's ills, totally ignoring the basic truth that if everybody was Christian, the world wouldn't HAVE any ills.


Does anyone else find this one funny? First off, the fact that "atheist" and "homosexuality" are spelled wrong. Secondly, the sheer lunacy of it.

Apparently, this guy's never read any of those special books he so often enjoys quoting. If he had, he would have discovered that, on no less than 14 occasions, Jesus commanded his followers to sell their possessions, give the money to the poor, and join him (which is a very socialist ideal). In Acts 2, the disciples divided up their belongings and "distributed them according to each mans need". Ooooh...I can see the capitalist blood boiling. That verse (2:46) sounds surprisingly similar to the Marxist "motto" (from each according to his ability to each according to his need).

Then, lets examine the other side of this: the accusations of common atheism. I've met plenty of atheists who don't like abortion, and several Christians who do. Has this guy ever even heard of the United Church? The Episcopal Church? Both of those have chosen to accept homosexuality in their parishes. Now, mind you Satan Pope Benedict XVI hasn't. But let's face it - no one should rely on an ex Nazi to tell them what to believe.

Making society "secular" and making society "atheist" are two entirely different things. In a secular society, every religion has equal say. Now, to hardliner Christians, this constitutes "an attack on Christianity", in that some people aren't Christian, and that just pisses them off beyond belief.

To understand the depths of religion's evil, just briefly glance at a history of warfare. The relationship between the two is like the one between John Cleese and Monty Python: you could have one without the other, but I don't think people would really see the point. Ever heard of the crusades? The colonization? The Residential Schools? The Missions? The modern Dominionists? They wouldn't have done half the things they did (all of them bad) if it weren't for religion. As soon as you are allowed to say "God told me to", it automatically absolves you of any guilt or condemnation.

Modern religion is cancerous; a method of manipulation and control. that is not to say that faith is dangerous - faith is a guide and a walking-stick. Religion is a master - one that tends to turn you from a disciple into a slave. Modern religion truly shows us what the difference between a cult and a religion truly is: 2,000 years.

Monday, January 26, 2009

Disinformation and Idiocy: Part 2 of 10

Alright, as I promised, here is part 2

Accusation 2. The left hate families.
People on the left all come from broken homes or have terrible family life and that's why they hate it that the rest of us don't. Ordinary, decent folk like us think the family is sacred but leftists don't because they want everybody's family to be like theirs. So they want to destroy families by making homosexuals get married and marrying straight people off to homosexuals just to throw a spanner in the works of hard-working, decent families.


I really got a kick out of this one, not only because of the writer's clearly demonstrated stupidity, but also because of the sheer lunacy of what he's saying.

"People on the left all come from broken homes" - that's a broad and sweeping accusation to start. People from all sides of the spectrum can come from broken homes. I know of hardline capitalist/conservatives who had horrific family lives in the the past, so this entire of idea of people on the left only coming from broken homes is absurd. Do I hate those who have a wonderful family life? Nope.

On the second aspect, this whole idea of "the left hates family values". "Family values" has to be one of the most rhetorical pieces of BS I've ever had the incredible disgust of witnessing. No one ever defines what "family values" are. If, by "family values", it is meant "ultra-conservative 17th-century Christian Protestant values-systems coupled with neoliberalism and capitalism", then you can definitely accuse me of being anti-family. You can also accuse me of being a rational thinker while you're at it. While I applaud many of the progressive ideas that developed in the architectural and musical fields in the 17th century, their values systems were a bit off-center. This is the same 17th century that saw with-trials and the burning of homosexuals. Believe it or not, but I really don't want to go back to the 17th century.

Thirdly, how does gay marriage upset family values? Their goal isn't to stuff their ideas down our throats. they aren't trying to make the whole world homosexual. You don't have to support their lifestyle, and you don't have to participate in it, but neither can you stamp it out. Neither can you trample over their rights as has been done so many times in the last 20,000 years of human history.

I'm not going to bother with the rest of his accusation - his idiocy speaks for itself.

Parts 3 through 10 to follow.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Disinformation and Idiocy: Part 1 of 10

Alright, so several days ago, I stumbled across a blog-post/rant written by an Australian "pundit" on politics - Byron Bayh Jr, entitled "ten things I hate about the left". Let me start by stating I thought I was going to cry I was laughing so hard, and let me finish by summing it all up in a single word: Bullshit. over the next ten posts, I'm going to dismantle each and every accusation, for your own enjoyment
Accuastion 1. The left hate success.
This is the all-time biggie. People on the left have a problem with people making money and being successful. They want everybody to be poor and miserable. This is why they want everybody to start living 'modestly' and why Obama told people to work more hours rather than see a 'friend lose their job'. This is also why they hate profit - if a business is successful and makes a profit, the left are the first ones to force them to stop due to "climate change" (see below).


Alright. Hold on. Stop right there. We don't have a problem with people making money; we have a problem with people being greedy, arrogant, self-serving bastards - which is (coincidentally enough) what many who advocate "supply-side" are (ie the entire Chicago School, the Heritage Foundation, etc), at least according to the Bureau of Labour. In Europe, the average CEO makes 16 to 18 times what their blue-collar workers make. Alright, fair enough. Odds are, they've worked longer and harder than their newer workers. Ergo, they deserve at least somewhat more. In the UK, this is slightly higher, weighing in at 21 times. In the United States, the standard CEO makes 411 TIMES what their blue-collar workers make. Is it just me, or does this sound a tad bit on the excessive side? The United States - the supposed bastion of Capitalism, also has one of the highest income inequalities in the developed world. According to the UN-Gini rating, the United States rests at 40.8, nestled in between Senegal (per capita income of under $1,000) and Turkmenistan (per capita income that is 1/47th that of the United States).

Now, onto dealing with the other accusations. Supposedly, us leftists want everyone to be "poor and miserable". Tell that to Norway, tied for 1st on the UN Human Development Index, with the highest GDP-Per-Capita in the world. Guess us leftists just love poverty that much.

As for the businesses and profits, that one should be bleeding obvious. Let us, for example, take a look at the largest company in the world: Exxon Mobil, with average annual profits exceeding $40,000,000,000. In the process of making this vast profit, they've been accused of human rights abuses in countries such as Indonesia, Senegal, Nigeria, Chad, Saudi-Arabia, Uzbekistan, Ecuador, Colombia, Bolivia, and Brazil. Nike, the most notorious sweatshop user on the planet, pays their workers an average of 13 cents per hour to earn its massive profits. Does that make profit? you betcha. Is that good? NO! Not when it was made by trampling over human rights laws and supporting paramilitary death-squads slaughtering union organizers (as Exxon did in Colombia in 2003).
Let's look at another example: Royal Dutch Shell. According to CorpWatch, the Energy giant has been fined more times for violating environmental laws than any other company in the world in the last 15 years (whether that's legit or not is subject to speculation, as Monsanto and Exxon got away with all kinds of things they probably should have been fined for), and records annual profits approaching 30 billion.
Given the gross human rights violations, horrific abuse of the environment, and near enslavement of its workers, what's not to hate about profit?

That's all for part one. The accusations will just get more wild and consistently stupider as we go. Buckle up everyone; parts 2 through 9 to follow.