All leftists are Athiests, whether they say so or not. They hate God and they want to see His work undone by killing the unborn (abortion) endorsing un-Biblical behaviour (homsexuality) and making society "secular", which is leftist code for "abolishing religion". They think religion is responsible for all the world's ills, totally ignoring the basic truth that if everybody was Christian, the world wouldn't HAVE any ills.
Does anyone else find this one funny? First off, the fact that "atheist" and "homosexuality" are spelled wrong. Secondly, the sheer lunacy of it.
Apparently, this guy's never read any of those special books he so often enjoys quoting. If he had, he would have discovered that, on no less than 14 occasions, Jesus commanded his followers to sell their possessions, give the money to the poor, and join him (which is a very socialist ideal). In Acts 2, the disciples divided up their belongings and "distributed them according to each mans need". Ooooh...I can see the capitalist blood boiling. That verse (2:46) sounds surprisingly similar to the Marxist "motto" (from each according to his ability to each according to his need).
Then, lets examine the other side of this: the accusations of common atheism. I've met plenty of atheists who don't like abortion, and several Christians who do. Has this guy ever even heard of the United Church? The Episcopal Church? Both of those have chosen to accept homosexuality in their parishes. Now, mind you
Making society "secular" and making society "atheist" are two entirely different things. In a secular society, every religion has equal say. Now, to hardliner Christians, this constitutes "an attack on Christianity", in that some people aren't Christian, and that just pisses them off beyond belief.
To understand the depths of religion's evil, just briefly glance at a history of warfare. The relationship between the two is like the one between John Cleese and Monty Python: you could have one without the other, but I don't think people would really see the point. Ever heard of the crusades? The colonization? The Residential Schools? The Missions? The modern Dominionists? They wouldn't have done half the things they did (all of them bad) if it weren't for religion. As soon as you are allowed to say "God told me to", it automatically absolves you of any guilt or condemnation.
Modern religion is cancerous; a method of manipulation and control. that is not to say that faith is dangerous - faith is a guide and a walking-stick. Religion is a master - one that tends to turn you from a disciple into a slave. Modern religion truly shows us what the difference between a cult and a religion truly is: 2,000 years.
1 comment:
A few addenda to your rant:
The Christian Right, of which this guy is a pretty typical spokesman, has an extremely narrow view of who is and is not a Christian. They would take exception to your suggestion that the Roman Catholic Church is Christian, because to many evangelical Protestants, the Catholics are idolators (see their attitude towards Mary and numerous saints, soon to include John Paul II). The United Church? Clearly a mushy group of non-believers because they don't stand for very much at all, so their position on homosexuality [sorry 'bout that choice of phrase] would be proof that they aren't "real" Christians.
Although of course religion and warfare are great lab partners (and I do appreciate the Monty Python simile!), there's no shortage of wars that were pretty transparently not about religion, even if they used religious pretexts. Even going back to the Thirty Years' War, which seems to be decisively a "War of Religion," it was about determining power politics in the Holy Roman Empire and eventually became a dynastic squabble between the Habsburgs and the Bourbons.
Even the Iran-Iraq War of 1980-88 was fairly clearly a political chess match that used important religious distinctions (do you stand to pray? do you kneel?) to justify killing millions. It's all arguable.
Keep slamming this guy, though. As Stephen King says in The Dead Zone, "I love to see this guy take a beating."
Post a Comment